All Medals banner small

All Medals banner small

Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored outstanding achievement in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program.


  • Call for Nominations! 
    We are now accepting nominations for the 2020 Awards! Awards will be presented in a variety of fields including neuroscience, food and agriculture sciences, astronomy, sustainability, and many more. Nominations will be accepted online through Monday, October 7, 2019. 
  • Age Revision for the Troland Research Award!
    Starting with this nomination period, the Troland Research Award age limit has been revised to "early-career researchers, preferably 45 years of age or younger."

Featured Award

The Arthur L. Day Prize and Lectureship is awarded to a scientist making lasting contributions to the study of the physics of the Earth and whose lectures will provide solid, timely, and useful additions to the knowledge and literature in the field. The recipient is awarded a $50,000 prize and funds to present a series of Day Lectures. 

Susan Solomon received the 2017 Arthur L. Day Prize and Lectureship. Solomon has been a leader in the fields of atmospheric chemistry and climate change for three decades. In 1986, Solomon proposed that novel chemistry was taking place and then used optical techniques to demonstrate that chlorine and bromine released by chlorofluorocarbon (CFC) gases were responsible for the ozone “hole” over Antarctica, which had been discovered just a year earlier. This groundbreaking work has now become standard text in any description of stratospheric ozone processes. Read more about Solomon's work»

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software